Thursday, 14 January 2016

Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid Banned

The FIFA Disciplinary Committee has sanctioned Spanish clubs Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid for breaches relating to the international transfer and registration of players under the age of 18.

The Spanish giants have been banned from registering players for the next two transfer windows.
The ban does not cover the current transfer window, which runs until the end of this month.
Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid Banned
Atletico were fined 900,000 Swiss francs (£622,000), while Real were told to pay 360,000 (£249,000). There were no immediate comments from the clubs, which have the right to appeal against the decision.

Barcelona were given the same penalty in April 2014 for also breaching rules on the transfer of under-18 players. Their ban, which ended this month, did not stop the La Liga side from signing players.

They bought Arda Turan and Aleix Vidal in the summer of 2015, though both players were prevented from playing until the current window opened. The next two transfer windows are July/August 2016 and January 2017.